Last week my mom gave us a visit. It was especially great for Little J since it was the first familiar face he’d seen since we’ve been here. We didn’t do anything exciting and I learned that it’s okay to not go to the park everyday. Somehow I have in my head that I must take Little J out everyday, by a certain time, or else I’m a bad mother.

On Monday we made a little adventure out of riding the BART since my mom’s never been on it, although we did live around this area for 4 years. We made a fun quick stop at the San Francisco mall. There must be 6 levels and we only went in 2 stores, one of which was Sanrio.
sf_sanr.jpg
Sanrio stores always bring a smile to my face. It makes me remember when I was 18 and the most complicated thing then was how to finish my art projects when my old bf monopolized my time.

On another day, we did a drive by to Lafayette where we used to live. It’s such a cliche to say “everything seems so much smaller than what I remember” but it was. I’m surprised the 3 little apartment buildings are still standing because so much has changed. I vaguely remember these mailboxes. I used to hate getting the mail because I didn’t want anyone to see me. Hmm, I was a shy child.
mailbox.jpg

We even drove by my old elementary school. At the time, I was the only Asian kid there until my brother attended years later. LOL. It’s weird to see that it’s been replaced by a new private high school Bentley. BENTLEY! It sounds expensive. Nothing was recognizable except for the winding front entrance. Sigh.

My husband told me I was going to get funny feelings in my stomach when I visit childhood places. I didn’t think I would but he was right.

